Playing with photographs at the Natural History Museum…

I went to the Natural History Museum at the weekend, to see the Wildlife Photographer of the Year exhibition. The exhibition was excellent – I’d recommend a visit – but that’s not what I wanted to write about.

But there was one small bit of technology used in the exhibition that struck me as being a great use of the internet, and served to make users advocates and advertisers of the show – willingly. Innovative, too – I’d not seen it used before.

At the end of the exhibition was a desk with a touch-screen, where one could select pictures from the show – and have them emailed to you (or any other email address).

This was very simple to use – more or less drag and drop.

My favourite picture from the show - Light projection, by Michal Budzyński (Poland)

I picked several pictures – it didn’t seem as if there was a limit (if so, it was quite a large one) – and emailed them to me. And of course, I could forward them elsewhere – sharing them (and publicising the exhibition and its photographers).

This simple bit of tech just seemed so neat: I get to look at my favourite photographs later, I can share them. And talk about them! It really engaged people. Whoever thought of this at the Natural History Museum deserves a medal – I wonder if it will catch on at other exhibitions? (And I’m sure you’ll let me know if it is already widely used around the place!)

Back in, front out, by Esa Mälkönen

Leave a Reply

