Today at Tuttle – particularly on internet identity.

It was another very interesting morning at Tuttle today. It was a game of two half – an outdoor ideas-kickaround followed by the more usual indoor tournament, with the scheduled downpour marking half-time.

I’ve written about Tuttle before. I find it an exciting space, but also quite challenging and tiring: it is full of interesting people, and the conversations are often quite passionate – these are people who believe in what they are doing.

I often feel that the conversations at Tuttle revolve around themes – of course, this might be because I am involved in each of the conversations I have (…obviously…); but it might also reflect this group’s underlying interests.

Today, the conversations veered from

  • project management tools like Milestone Planner, which looks like a pretty handy, flash based, web app
  • how to monetise web apps, a recurring theme at Tuttle which interests me in terms of business models and systems – just what can you get people to pay for, and how
  • privacy, online identity, and personal brand management
  • corporate brand management and social media
  • …flowing seamlessly into what communities actually are – the c-word, a bug-bear of mine, is another recurring theme – and a lot of sense was spoken on the topic today
  • how media – not just (but particularly) online social media – work to build relationships which add real value – that is, financial value: so we ended back at monetisation again.

There are blogposts to be written about any of these topics – Tuttle is a bit like a walking, talking blog comment box. There should be blogposts written about them, and perhaps jotting down my thoughts like this will help me marshal my thoughts for future posts as they filter through my mind. (There are of course, thousands of posts on these topics out there in the blogosphere. I mean they should be written by me, though…) Thing is, a lot of the ideas I’d be discussing come from other people: and to be honest I probably couldn’t say who said what – conversations in a large group are necessarily free-flowing: that is the nature of “crowds”.

This take us back to the nature of identity and privacy online. I have two blogs – this one, which I use to discuss things I have learnt and ideas new to me, and another in a more secluded part of the interweb where I post photographs and talk about more personal things I have experienced. This week, I published two posts on this blog which might easily have gone on my other, more private blog. I put them here because they are about ideas – but they are also about personal experiences, and making them public left me feeling a little exposed. I am suffering a bout of online identity crisis.

This was pertinent to one of the conversations at Tuttle, since I was discussing Ale2.0 with Tom, its organiser. He was talking about the potential to join up lots of different media, including streaming video from Ale2.0 onto the web. We were discussing how we felt about this – I wasn’t sure I wanted potential clients and colleagues to see me sinking a pint or two: so how do I manage my online identity? Of course, I could avoid events which people might be recording; or I moderate my behaviour in case I am being recorded (the panopticon model of the internet). Tom took another view, that there would be so much noise – so much data – on the internet that actually whether there were pictures of me or not would no longer matter: with everything out there, nothing would be that important.

This seems to be quite a trusting view of society as a whole: one I don’t necessarily share. No surprise there, then.

And I must come back to communities at some point in the future, because I think my ideas on the topic are coalescing nicely.

And thanks to everyone who shared they’re thoughts at Tuttle today!

4 thoughts on “Today at Tuttle – particularly on internet identity.

    1. Patrick Post author

      Now that is a good question!

      I don’t see Tuttle as a community, although I think Lloyd would strongly disagree with me.

      I see Tuttle as a very loose group, with a wide variety of interests and values – but a shared interest in social media, and in talking about it.

      I think that if one has strong beliefs in community, one will see evidence of communities everywhere; if one doesn’t believe in communities, one will not see them (or identify them as such if one does see them!). I belong to the second category!

      This may of course be semantics – although I also think it is reflected in one’s behaviour, too.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

