What I like about Tuttle. (And one thing I don’t…)

I spent the morning at Tuttle, weekly offline get together which started out as an extension of online discussions. I have been going to Tuttle since February, and regularly for the last six weeks or so. It is a bit like a cross between a BarCamp and a networking event – there are no presentations, so perhaps it is closer to a networking event, but there is no sense of anyone trying to sell themselves or their products.

Perhaps it’s closer to a tweetup (though I didn’t go to my first tweetup until after I had been to Tuttle, so I’d probably put it round the other way!).

What there is is a load of people happy to talk about anything. There a lots of excellent conversations. A lot of the participants work in online media in one way or another (I don’t), and everyone there has an interest in social media, one way or another, so a lot of the conversations are about the internet, social media and the tools that we are beginning to take for granted in our lives.

In the past few weeks, I have had some fascinating conversations about

  • film-making in Mumbai
  • how to take the momentum developed by a conference forward to catalyse change
  • managing change in education
  • electronic publishing and the future of books
  • how on earth can social media make money
  • how companies can leverage social media within their organisations (and how they can’t)
  • collapsonomics and the recession
  • the future of jazz in Britain
  • the impact of social media on citizen-journalism
  • the good and bad things about putting Government services on the internet
  • intellectual property lawyers
  • how to take new ideas to market

and an awful lot more.

So more than anything, Tuttle is eclectic and inclusive: all that it really requires is a willingness to participate. At times I feel a bit of an outsider, since it appears I am surrounded by experts, though always a welcome one.

Basically, Tuttle is a space in which to engage with interesting people in interesting conversations, in an open environment.

It is an excellent weekly event, and I am pleased that I was taken along back in February.

In fact, I can only think of one down point about Tuttle: all those conversations going on at once mean that it can get awfully loud…

4 thoughts on “What I like about Tuttle. (And one thing I don’t…)

  1. Lloyd Davis

    Thanks Patrick, I’m really glad you’re enjoying it so much – and funnily enough it’s quite a revelation to me what conversations actually go on, as I mainly get to sit with new people. Fascinating :)

    I agree on the noise, we could do with a more acoustically dampened environment from time to time, or perhaps someone could develop some noise-cancelling technology that we could all use.

    Reply
    1. Patrick Post author

      I think it is the variety of people and conversations that make it so compelling! It is a good thing that you started – and the noise is of course a sign of its popularity!

      Reply
  2. Brian Condon

    Hi Patrick

    I like the post – nice thinking.

    I know what you mean about feeling a bit of an outsider; I suspect many of us do – but I think the whole tuttle thing is a kind of convocation of outsiders who interact well together.

    Good to meet you yesterday.

    Cheers

    Brian

    Reply
    1. Patrick Post author

      convocation of outsiders who interact well together” – I think that is a great description of Tuttle!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

